Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#14341202 12/05/19
A
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
A
Anybody of you guys hunt with Llamas? I just got some and could definitely use all the tips and tricks I can get. I ended up buying 4. 1 is trained and 3 of them are about 2 1/2 years old and pretty raw.

GB1

W
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
W
There's a guy here who uses them. Perhaps he'll show.

W
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
W
Maybe try the Hunters Campfire forum. Has more traffic.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
rock chuck

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I've been using them for 8 or 9 years. What do you need to know?

“In a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.
IC B2

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Wow, jumping in with both feet. I don’t use them, I use goats, but sure seems like a great way to add some mobility to your hunts.

"For some unfortunates, poisoned by city sidewalks ... the horn of the hunter never winds at all" Robert Ruark, The Horn of the Hunter

A
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
A
Originally Posted by Rock Chuck
I've been using them for 8 or 9 years. What do you need to know?

Any tips for training especially? What kind of expectations should I have as far as a timeframe to get them ready to pack? Anything else you think may be of value.

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Llamas are the easiest animals to train that I've ever used. If they're halter broke, saddle them. The 3d or 4th time you saddle them, they'll be broke. They do need conditioning. I use sandbags in the panniers and take them on hikes in the hills. A couple 5 milers a week for a few weeks and they'll show considerable improvement. I throw 10 to 20lb in my daypack as I hike so I get in shape, too.