24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I've been reloading for years but I am not an expert. I've always loaded revolver rounds and some rifle. I have never loaded for a semi-auto pistol. Just found factory loads were inexpensive enough to justify reloading things like 9mm and 45. I'm attempting to load for a 45 Win Mag. my first batch looked great. When I tried loading them into the Wildey. The slide stopped prior to full battery. Then the fun began getting the round out of the chamber. I loaded a few factory loads into the gun to make sure something wasn't amiss with the gun since the last time I shot it. The factories loaded fine. I pulled the decapping rod out of the sizing die and ran the loaded rounds through it to see if the case neck was bulged or something. There was resistance so I'm thinking maybe?? I'm loading .452 250 gr XTPs. I wouldn't think going to a .451 would make much difference.

Any thoughts?
Scratching my head

A bowhunter at heart but a gun guy at soul. I'll take craftsmanship, wood and blue steel over plastic and composite any day.
BP-B2

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I would assume that when you loaded these troublesome rounds, you first resized & deprimed the brass, flared the case mouths, seated primers, charged the cases and then seated bullets in that order.

If I'm on track here the Wildey is a semi-auto pistol, so the rounds need to be crimped as the bullets are seated (or crimped after seating, which is better IMHO). The crimp for this type of round should be a taper crimp, and if that taper crimp is not sufficient than you might have problems such as you describe. Another possibilty is not seating bullets deep enough.