Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
So my Girlfriends parents are giving us a Silver Lab and I’m new to training a dog. My good friend just ordered me the book “Water Dog”. It focuses more on Labs. I will mainly be taking her for Pheasants. Any tips and tricks would be great. I feel like I’m having a child. Wish me luck haha. Thank you in advance!

Kyle

American Rifles and Italian Shotguns
GB1

P
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
P
I have had a few labs, great dogs. Be very careful with gun training, some dogs just don't like the gun. Go very slow and easy.

C
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
C
Basic obedience, basic obedience, basic obedience......it’s the bedrock of everything else. 10-15 minute training sessions starting out, pups usually can’t hold attention much longer. If it seems too hard, simplify and try again later. Always end on a successful note. Above all, keep it fun for both you and the dog.....read their body language, the experience is all in what you make it, but the reward can be great! Good luck!

M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
The gun training is something I worry about. If it becomes gun shy that would really suck.

C
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
C
If you’re worried about gun shyness, get a cheap toy cap pistol. Use it at a distance when the pup is playing, eating, drinking, doing fun things in general. Use it at random times until the dog ignores it. Then get closer. Eventually move to blanks and finally the real thing. Always pay attention to the dog, they will tell you what you need to know. Also, have your girlfriend help by giving treats when shooting early on. Creates a reward response to gun fire that can be carried over to training.

IC B2

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
First command sit/stay is really helpful when they are off a lead.