Page 1 of 2 1 2
#14391728 12/21/19
T
tcp Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
T

In the past, I have seen pictures posted of a few rifles that had the metal work treated entirely with NP3 - could anyone post pictures of a rifle or handgun that has seen a fair bit of use to show how well NP3 holds up over time? The internet is full of pictures of NP3 treated objects but most appear to be new.

I have a custom rifle in the works that I intend to be the last one I am going to ever need or want. As such, I intend to have the metal work treated in some way to enhance the rust resistance. I am considering either Cerakote or NP3 and feel that NP3 is the better option, although I have no personal experience to back that up.

Thank you

If you can't be a good example, may you at least serve as a dreadful warning
GB1

tcp #14392085 12/21/19
J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J
I had a custom slug gun that was coated in NP3 that I hunted hard for several years. The NP3 held up very well and the gun looked like new the entire time I owned it. I was impressed with the NP3. I sold it after our area went to rifles and was no longer a slug only deer area. So I don't have any pictures but that was my experience with NP3. I am curious what other responses you will get from people who have used it.

NRA Life Member

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~
tcp #14393690 12/21/19
D
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
D
I have had a few treated with NP3. I feel it is superior to Cerakote. However, if you have it Nitride, it is the primo treatment IMO.

Buy once, cry once.
tcp #14393741 12/21/19
D
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
D
Didn't Robar recently go out of business?

They did an NP3 finish on a Winchester 70 Featherweight for me a long time ago. It still looks brand new!

Liberalism is a cancer
Support Christian Family values
tcp #14393838 12/21/19
U
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
U
Robar Closure

ATTENTION GUN OWNERS: