Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
D
I was wondering if anyone here has used this stove. I like the idea that there are no loose parts like wingnuts and bolts to loose, but it is pretty pricey compared to other titanium stoves. Any thoughts from experienced backpack hunters?
Thanks

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I have no personal experience with this stove but it looks like it would be a huge improvement over the other backpack takedown titanium stoves on the market. Having owned two takedown titanium stoves for my 16-man tipi I quickly learned that they perform poorly because there is no ability to control the burn rate. They leak air into the burn box like a sieve so all you can achieve is a full/fast burn. You're either burning up inside the tipi or freezing. Being unable to damper down the stove and control the burn rate makes them next to useless. That's why I graduated to a Four-Dog titanium stove. True, it does not collapse but it's air tight and enables the user to have extended burn times. This Winnerwell stove looks like (judging solely from the videos) that it might be somewhat air tight. If the latches had cams so the sides and top were REALLY cranked down against one another it would probably be even better. Still not a fan of the roll-up stove pipe but it works okay.

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
Originally Posted by John_Havard