Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
OP Offline
B
Howdy folks,

I’ve been putting in with some friends for several years, and we’ve built up 6 points for Colorado (7 after this year) and are looking for an outfitter for 2021. What units and what outfitters might you recommend? Or rather would we be better off going OTC with an outfitter and then using our points (assuming that can be done)? Also, what kind of budget should we set for an outfitter? Another thought is using our mulie tags (we have about 5 points there) and scouting and then using our elk points. Ideally, we’d like to hunt first rifle. We’re non-Colorado residents.

Thanks for any guidance you can provide!

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
no deer during first rifle....

R
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
R
As for a budget for outfitters; The good one's will be booking for 2021 now and you can expect to pay, as a fee for the outfitter alone, somewhere north of $4,500. Then you will have guide tips which are typically between 10% and 20% of the outfitter fee. Then if you kill one, or two, there will be the packer tip. Also, if there is a cook you will be looking at a tip for them as well. For an example, my last time using Jeanne Horne at J Bar H Outfitters, we each paid $4,800 for the outfitter fee, $600 for the guide tip and $100 per elk for the packers. Also, $100 for the cook. For the one of us that got a double, they paid the guide $800. Our total cost, including everything, was around $8,000/person. (Traveling from Tenn.) And, yes, I would recommend J Bar H Outfitters, Unit 12 between Meeker and Craig in NW Colorado. I hope this helps, and good luck in your search.

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
Hate to be the bearer of bad news. And I hope I’m