Print Thread
Hop To
L
LJBass Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
L
I don't want to over do the farm threads, But I've been thinking about planting Oats in August, September next year for fall stockpile instead of Wheat, Triticale, Rye. The Rye usually gives me a little grazing in the fall when I need it, Then come spring you're wishing you had more stock to keep it knocked back. Then, While I'm keeping it from going to seed, all the other pasture goes to seed. I didn't like hay equipment when I had it, don't want it again, so I think the Oats might Give me more of the Fall grazing I need.

Wabi, Samo, or any of you others know anybody planting them in the fall?

BP-B2

K
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
K
LJ—I’m a butcher by trade and have always been interested in the beef buisness. Always enjoy the pics on here from Jim and Sam and Richard. I have lived in the bush for the last 50 years so the nearest beef cow is at least 200 miles away. I wouldn’t know a thing about grazing cattle but I have been watching you-tube vids about Mob Grazing.
I’ll bet Greg Judy could answer your question as he is in Missouri also. Shoot him an email.

J
Campfire Kahuna
Online Happy
Campfire Kahuna
J
When do you want to graze it? Just the fall?

When do you want it gone?

Last edited by Jim_Conrad; 12/28/19.

I am MAGA.
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
While this is here I have a question.

Is it too late to plant triticale? I want to cut something early, then I'll follow with teff for 3-4 spring and summer cuttings.

Hunt with Class and Classics

Religion: A founder of The Church of Spray and Pray

Acquit v. t. To render a judgment in a murder case in San Francisco... EQUAL, adj. As bad as something else. Ambrose Bierce “The Devil's Dictionary”

L
LJBass Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
L
Originally Posted by luv2safari
While this is here I have a question.