Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 10 of 15 1 2 8 9 10 11 12 14 15
S
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
S
That information came from Dave Scoville, editor of Handloader.

GB1

B
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
B
How recent was the article?

laissez les bons temps rouler
M
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
M
SU35,

Dave Scovill has not been the editor of Handloader for almost a decade. Randy Brooks solved the problem of inconsistent batches of copper once the bullets started selling well enough for Barnes to afford to buy more consistent bullets.

The biggie that I've noticed (and I have been shooting X-Bullets for 30 years now) is that inconsistent expansion problems AFTER they started getting more consistent copper almost always involved bullets of .30 caliber or less--where the hollow-point is noticeably smaller than on TSX's over 30.

Have not experienced any failures to expand with Tipped TSX's, though I know one person who experienced one example. I don't discount that, but just about any controlled-expansion bullet can misbehave once in a great while. I have seen some do things many hunters would not believe unless they were there. But that's rare.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
I still would like to know what the expanded frontal area of that bullet measures ?

It’s also pretty amazing to me that that bullet with minimal expansion still put an elk down in 60 yds .

B
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
B