Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
Thought we could get discussion going with this topic since most of us have recently closed out our elk hunts.

With our hunts still recent in our minds. What is your elk hunting style and does your rifle match the way you prefer to hunt elk?

😎

Be prepared to defend your rifle. Grins

Curiosity Killed the Cat & The Prairie Dog
“Molon Labe”
GB1

H
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
H
My methods of hunting are spot and stalk, still hunt and wait on travel corridors so the majority of shots for all big game are under 200 yds. Three of the last 4 elk were with a 30-06. After a spot and stalk the longest shot was ranged by partner at 175. This year was a muzzleloader (50 cal) at 130yds while watching a travel corridor. I spend a bunch of range time shooting at distance for practice but hunt much closer.

Hugh
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Not that I am an expert on elk hunting, having killed a grand total of 2 over the last 2 years.

My moving thru the timber rifle is a 338-06.

My sit and glass across a canyon rifle is a 7 WSM.

Both accounted for an elk at their intended purpose.

I guess I am happy in that regard.

There is no way to coexist no matter how many bumper stickers there are on Subaru bumpers!

J
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
J
For spot and stalk/run and gun, I use a 300 WBY with 26" barrel and a Swaro Z5. It has been great on bulls from bayonet range to 450 yards. It is my go to setup for all around elk hunting.

As a companion setup, I have a model 70 FWT in 300 WSM with the barrel cut back to 23" in an edge stock with a Swaro Z3. It is more backpack friendly and great for bugling hunts and timber.

S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S