Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
D
Dogger Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
D
i have plenty of experience freezing while hiking. lol. actually, i remember many times being peeled down to just a t-shirt with sweat boiling and steam rising like a train's smokestack... but for those situations when you want to move slowly, and the wind is slicing thru you... that is the outer layer piece of kit i need...

no need for hearing aids yet...

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker

Well, then...

Search for the waterproofness data and air permeabilty of given fabrics, turn up your hearing aid and start moving.

Don't ask me about my military service or heroic acts...most of it is untrue.

Pronoun: Yes, SIR !
M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
Originally Posted by Dogger
Gore-tex... after witnessing our dismounted light infantry get in serious hypothermia trouble with their high speed/low drag Goretex outer gear (NTC January 1995) on the top of a mountain goat mountain in serious cold weather and torrential rain - i have never been a fan of that stuff... too heavy... too thick... too bulky...

something thin and light and quiet to stop the wind when you are exposed and need to move... if it starts raining... i am stopping and erecting shelter/fire.

i have never been a fan of that stuff... too heavy... too thick... too bulky...

Really? I have a ton of Goretex that is neither heavy, thick, or bulky. Has always worked great for me, Climbing, hunting, backpacking, fishing, snowboarding, and everyday wear in the rain.

Eat Fish, Wear Grundens, Drink Alaskan.
M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
Originally Posted by Dogger
i have plenty of experience freezing while hiking. lol. actually, i remember many times being peeled down to just a t-shirt with sweat boiling and steam rising like a train's smokestack... but for those situations when you want to move slowly, and the wind is slicing thru you... that is the outer layer piece of kit i need...