L
Which do you prefer, and why?

GB1

J
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
J
I used to be able to get a good shaving edge freehand on a stone followed by a leather strop, but really struggle to do so now. I've been using a Gatco setup for a few years now and get much better results...

L
longarm Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
L
Thanks J.
Why do you suppose Stones used to work for you but now don't? Is it you or the stones?

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
I think you know or can accurately guess which camp I am in.

Eat Fish, Wear Grundens, Drink Alaskan.
L
longarm Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
L
MCH, Stones, for sure.
But humor me a little and articulate why please.

IC B2

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
My father was a tool and die guy, so I had access to plenty of stones as a youth.

I used free hand stones for about 50 years. I got pretty good at it. I ended up buying three larger (longer stokes)
bench stones of various grits and made a small fixture to hold them. I always sharpened standing
with my elbows locked into my sides and the stones at the same height every time if possible.

I thought I was doing well, but kept hearing about scary sharp. When Boise loaned me his Edge Pro
I found out what scary sharp is. I no longer use free stones for sharpening.

Keeping the stones CLEAN and the angle CONSTANT is very important in sharpening blades, especially the newer steels
heat treated to higher rockwells.

I fear the old days of setting around the deer hunting campfire spitting on an arkansas stone and working up a
slather swishing your high carbon soligen blade heat treated in the mid 50s around is about gone.

I now also use the Work Sharp for my filet and kitchen knives. Does a pretty good job and is quick touch up
after setting the convex bevel the first time.

So anyhow, I feel that almost any fixtured system will normally beat free hand for sharpening.

Just my 2 cents.
Tim