Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
C_ROY Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I have never used an attached Bi-pod before, for all my hunting the past 35 yrs it has been done out of whitetail stands or if I was "spot & stalking" out West I have used mainly tri-pods over the years going back to the collapsible stoney point sticks up to the Bog Pods I have been using the past 10 years or so...

Not sure where to start...over the years the name brand that always came up was "Haris" but it appears "Atlas" seems to be the brand now. Not sure if what I want is realistic or not but would like an attached Bi-pod that obviously I can lay prone to take hunting shoots at a distance but when vegetation and terrain prevent laying prone I can extend the bi-pod legs to take a sitting shot.. For hunting purposes what is everyone using???

PASS IT ON!
GB1

805 Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
For what you’re describing a Harris swivel 12-25 would be what I’d consider since you mentioned shooting from seated position.

Y
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Y
Originally Posted by C_ROY
Not sure if what I want is realistic or not but would like an attached Bi-pod that obviously I can lay prone to take hunting shoots at a distance but when vegetation and terrain prevent laying prone I can extend the bi-pod legs to take a sitting shot.. For hunting purposes what is everyone using???

I don't know if any of the newer bipods on the market can handle both prone and sitting, but it's not a realistic goal with a Harris bipod in my experience. I do have one for each (prone and sitting) and they are very different in size. The 6"-9" Harris works well for prone, and I almost always use it in the collapsed 6" position. For sitting on the other hand, a much taller model is needed (if you use a bipod for that); I forget what size mine is, something like 25" comes to mind, but regardless it's much longer than the model that works for prone.