Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Teal Offline OP
Campfire 'Bwana
OP Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Found Ron Spoomer's video on the Kimber Caprivi in 375 H&H.

Made me think - not much mention I remember of the Caprivi or its Alaskan cousin, the Talkeetna.

What's the general thought?
Compare to a M70 build or Ruger in 375 Ruger?

Academic question, I'm not shopping (do believe I'll own a 375 some day), just learning.

Thoughts??

Me

GB1

W
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
W
I have no experience with either of the 375H&H Kimbers so can’t comment on them,

However. I have shot both of the Ruger Hawkeyes - African and Alaskan - in 375 Ruger, quite a bit. They are reliable and accurate. I prefer the African because it balances better for me and produces a bit more muzzle velocity.

My current 375 is a transitional Pre-64 Win M-70 in 375H&H. This is my favorite 375. It balances very well with the 25” barrel. The action is silky smooth, feeding with both FP solids and spitzers is infallible, the trigger works perfectly, and it shoots sub MOA to 300 yds, which is as far I’ve shot paper with it. On game it’s definitive.

As you can see my strong bias is for the M-70 in 375.

Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it Almighty God! I know not what course others may take, but as for me, give me liberty of give me death! P. Henry

Deus vult!

Rhodesians all now

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I had a Caprivi .375 for a short time. I liked the looks of it but it didn't balance well for me. I have a 1965 Browning FN Safari .375 I like much better.

Gun Owners of America & NRA Life Member
https://www.facebook.com/BirdDogBunkhouse57442/
"There are a hundred things that can happen at long range and only one of them is good"
CRS Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I am a Model 70 fan, but it is for the Classics or Pre-64 with the KISS trigger system.