Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
T
tomt53 Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
T
Looking at getting some sort of night scope for coyote hunting. The people that have either thermal or night vision, why did you choose the scope you got. Which one did you get and would you buy it again? TIA Tom

Browning X-Bolt .30-06
Leupold VX-3i 4.5-14x50 CDS

Tikka T3x Lite 308 win
GB1

H
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
H
Im no expert, especially on model, current offerings, cool new features, etc. I’ve just spent a lot of hours behind NV stuff in the past and a couple of thermals over the last 4 years. If you can afford to, you might want both. Thermal scanner/spotter, and NV for shooting. If only one, then thermal if you can afford it......remember, you can only see in the black, THROUGH a device.....if that device is permanent mounted to a 9# rifle, you’re spotting and scanning with a 9# scope....not optimum. You’ll see more with a thermal. NVs will see more than anything but a thermal, and shoot well, but they’re still reliant on your eyeball finding what’s there. A thermal can shoot just as well, but it’s gonna hilight what’s there and draw your eye to it. A $3k NV/IR is likely to be far better quality/resolution than a $3k thermal, but the thermal may make up for it in adverse conditions, cover, fog, overcast, etc. Ideal has been a small thermal spotter, and a 2nd thermal sight on the gun. Both have a learning curve for your perception and use vs your natural visual cues. NV is faster to adapt to initially, at least in my use. If I could afford a decent thermal, I’d pick it first. If I needed scanning first, I’d then buy a NV sight until I could get a second thermal for my rifle, too. Either can get it done, but once you’ve used a good thermal, NV/IR is second fiddle, IMO.

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
You have to wonder how well something like the ATN Thor 4 at $2000 will actually work and how robust it is.

T
tomt53 Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline