Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
S
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
S
On the other chains saw thread, somebody mentioned this. On the nose of bigger saws is a grease hole and you need to lube it.
I have been using chain saws quite a bit for 35 years and never heard of this.

So I went over to youtube and yes, here it is in a one minute video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYlmHgK8Qbc

I have a Stihl with a 20 inch bar and a Husqvarna with an 18 inch bar and I just went to check them and to my surprise, both have grease holes in the bar for the front socket. Never have lubed either one.
Now, it is off to the chain saw shop to get a little grease gun.

GB1

R
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
R
My larger Echo with 20" has it, I've lubed it once in 2 years.
My old Stihls don't have it[but both are running 16" bars].

FJB & FJT
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
They make special grease guns to lube them. I don't do much chainsawing any more but I used to have a plastic syringe looking thing for doing it. Usually they're full of bar oil anyway so I don't know if it helps any.

“In a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.
S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S
I have small tip that fits on my regular grease gun that I use. Seems like all the owners manual I have for my four chain saws mentions greasing the nose

If God wanted you to walk and carry things on your back, He would not have invented stirrups and pack saddles
S
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
S
I have built 8 log cabins by myself and the main tool for log building is the chain saw. To cut a dovetail notch, you are making a cut 9 inches long and three inches deep in white pine. Then you make 3 more cuts and you have a dovetail notch.
So, you are using the chain saw all day but not doing much heavy duty cutting.