Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
longarm Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
L
In his own words explaining what the CW was clearly NOT about.
The man was there, unlike the liberals that pollute this forum. I found the ending very moving in light of our current National embarrassment.

https://youtu.be/uHDfC-z9YaE

GB1

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
I graduated High School in 1970 in Springfield VA, Fairfax County...

Listening to the end of the link above about a talk with Mr Howell, about why they fought during the Civil War in Virginia had nothing to do with slavery and it was about State's Rights... that is exactly how we were taught in Virginia History, which was required in 4th grade, 7th grade and 10th grade back during those days...

you never read about Virginia tried to abolish slavery within the state in 1808.. they were buying the freedom of slaves from their land owners, which was predominantly in the SE part of the state where the major plantations were...it almost bankrupted the State, because recently freed slaves were kidnapped, and taken over into North Carolina, where their freedom was not recognized...and the kidnapped slave was swapped for one from North Carolina....to the first slaves owner...

it was a revolving door until the State of Virginia had to stop it in 1810, before the state went bankrupt...

but I also know from history taught in those days...it varied in other states....

if Union forced hadn't invaded Northern VA in Arlington and Fairfax Counties, the entire state of Virginia probably would have not seceded from the Union... but once invaded.. that killed that... .that is why the western counties didn't want to secede.. and became West Virginia, as they had no real slavery there.. just mountain hill folk... but many of them fought for the South and Virginia...

"Minus the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the Country" Marion Barry, Mayor of Wash DC