Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
B
Which would you prefer and why? I like 1095 but a couple of S35vn knives caught my attention recently and I have no experience with it.

GB1

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
You are trying to compare two steels that are totally different. Both have good qualities. Comes down to intended use, design, heat treat, geometry, profile, and grind. My best advise to you is if you don't know let the maker tell you which they think is best in your application.

Eat Fish, Wear Grundens, Drink Alaskan.
B
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
B
Gotcha. No bushcraft stuff just mainly skinning and general camp use.
Originally Posted by MontanaCreekHunter
You are trying to compare two steels that are totally different. Both have good qualities. Comes down to intended use, design, heat treat, geometry, profile, and grind. My best advise to you is if you don't know let the maker tell you which they think is best in your application.

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
Again two totally different steels. Both are decent nothing to exotic but both will do the job you are looking to do. The obvious would be if stainless is desired.

Eat Fish, Wear Grundens, Drink Alaskan.
G
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
G
Been pleasantly surprised with S35VN lately.....I’ve used CPM154 exclusively in my stainless knives I make. S35VN is getting a more serious look from me now.

You only live once, but...if you do it right, once is enough.
IC B2

B
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
B
How does it sharpen? Does it hold an edge?
Originally Posted by Godogs57
Been pleasantly surprised with S35VN lately.....I’ve used CPM154 exclusively in my stainless knives I make. S35VN is getting a more serious look from me now.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Short answer, if it were me I'd go with S35. Properly ground and heat treated of course.