Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
I'm thinking about buying a couple of ground blinds for elk hunting. Lots of them out there to buy. I want one that is not a flimsy POS. I would appreciate some recommendations.

Jim
GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Double Bull blinds are awesome!

M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
I've been chasing elk in CO since 1996. To the best of my memory, I've never seen someone use a factory-made ground blind for elk. Elk are too nomadic and unpredictable to set up a blind of this sort. Maybe, just maybe, if you were on private land and could really pattern the elk over a water hole, or small field, and you could leave the blind out weeks ahead of the season, it would be applicable. That being said, we have made several, natural, ground blinds out of dead branches so I understand the concept. We sit in them at day break or dusk and that's it, and almost never use the same location more than twice a season. I can't imagine hiking in miles, carrying a blind and chair and heater or whatever else for elk hunting.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I killed both of these bulls in a double blind over wallows. Just brush the blind in a little bit.

[Linked Image from imagizer.imageshack.com]

F
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
F