Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#14866217 05/10/20
woodson Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
Anyone have experience using a Ned rig technique? Read blasphemous things like “it is Senko like in how it catches fish”. I always liked the idea of Texas rigging a floating finesse worm. Watching random YouTube’s and stumbled on this Ned Rig stuff.

I’m a sucker for keeping a 5” weightless senko tied on constantly for fishing less than 5-7’ of water. I’m far too impatient to wait for a 5” to sink longer. A rod with a Ned rig seems like a nice way to work the bottom of the water column.

I have zero personal experience with them, hence me asking for first hand accounts. It just seems like a technique worthy of a dedicated rod?

Last edited by woodson; 05/11/20.
GB2

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Look at Z Man TRD Ned Rig set ups. I used these a lot last year when it got hot and the bite was off for everything else I tried.

The Z Man combination I used was a light jig head with a light wire hook and about a three inch geen pumpkin senko shape but a lot tougher plastic worm. I used it with both med/lt & lt spinning rigs, 10 lb braid and a three or four foot fluro leader. It worked in shallow water or depths up to 20 feet.

There's a lot of info on the web. re this and there's other ways to fish it. Looks to me it's just a light tackle way to bass fish. No question it works. I caught bass from about 12" up to 18" on it over three or four days during mid summer. From what I've read it will work at any time and some bigger fish are also caught with this method.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Im a believer Z-Man Finesse with the ShroomZ jigheads , the bait stands up . Work it across beds , fish even hit it while it's falling .

I use a 7ft medium rod .

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker