24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I'm an admitted rookie in the realm of traditional archery. So be gentle with me here.

How do you know if you have the right spine and point combo? What am I supposed to be looking for?
I'm shooting a Bob Lee takedown recurve, 47# @ 28". I've a 27 1/4" draw. Shooting Beman Centershot 500 spines exactly at 29" long.

Here's what I know:
1. When using a 150 gr point+insert, I see hardly any flex in the arrow at all. Coming off the bow it just looks like a dart. I shoot cock feather out, and the lower hen feateher is rubbing on the side plate enough it is wearing out the feather and leaveing "dust" on the bottom of the side plate.
2. When using a 200 gr point+insert, that arrow is flopping around pretty good as it comes off the bow. To me it looks like a LOT and it shows in the I-phone slo-mo video pretty well.
3. When using a 175 gr point+insert, it's kind of in between. Obviously.

How do you KNOW if you have the correct spine in the arrow/point/insert/feathers/nock combo? What do you look for?

BP-B2

G
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
G

R
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
R
When bareshafting for a right hand person. A weak shaft will fly left and a too stiff spine will fly in a curve to the right.

HOWEVER
A spine way out of range for the bow may bounce off a riser shelf or side giving a false reading. Because of this whenever doing bareshaft tuning check to make sure you aren't getting a false reading by adding and lowering point weight.A true reading will show weaker as more weight is added or stiffer as more is removed. If 50 to 75 grains of weight shows no change or if it looks like more weight makes the arrow stiffer then you know you have a false reading caused from something else.

Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Thanks all. Looks I for work to do, and since I already cut a doz arrows maybe some arrows to buy.

H
Campfire Regular