Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
From my Bob Lee recurve and shooting off the shelf, I've been shooting 34" Gateway shield cut feathers and even some parabolics I had. The 4" shield and parabolics are both 15.5 mm tall according to Gateway. With cock freather out, that bottom feather is getting worn out pretty quick. All frazzled looking. Phylis Diller looking worn out.

So I looked at the Trueflight feathers web-site. Trueflight feathers are only 14 mm tall. So, I'm thinking I might try the "shorter" feathers and see if the wear out rate is a tad less. Concern though, is that with a shorter feather I'll also have less stabilizing effect.

I using a Bitz with helical clamp, so their spinning pretty good., so maybe the shorter feathers will stabilize just fine.

I'm an engineer and tend to overthink things. Like alot. Analyze it to death. It's my nature. Drives my wife crazy.

GB1

W
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
W
Arrow is too stiff.

W
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
W
Learn to bare shaft tune.

D
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D
Pretty normal can try rotating nock. Can also play with brace height. I've had best luck with trueflight feathers but have always burned to shape.

Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by WStrayer
Arrow is too stiff.

I thought the same. Paper tuning at 6-feet if anytihing shows the shaft to be a tad weak with both fletched (2+ inch nock left tear) and bare shaft (2 1/2" nock left tear). So that is confusing. All tears horizontal, so at least the nock is good.

Heck, even shooting bare shaft at 15-yard shows it weak. In slo-mo it's fishtailing like crazy.

Too late to add shaft lenght, so I may add 25 grains to the point and see how it changes.

Last edited by Gun_Geezer; 07/19/20.
IC B2

Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by DCR48