Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
B
Hey guys - one question if I may? I'm new to in-line M/L rifles, NOT the old original style percussion cap & flintlock. If you remove the 209 primer at the end of the day to make it safe, WHAT do you replace it with until the next day hunting?

I know something has to be put over the breech plug area w/ the hole for the 209 primer. What is used to keep the powder from getting moisture overnight? The hole HAS to be covered, does it not?

Years ago for a reg. percussion cap M/L rifle, I would just put a piece of leather over the nipple and let the hammer down on it. Always worked before, but I don't have room for anything like that now w/ the modern in-line system.

Any thoughts or answers would be much appreciated. Thank you all in advance!

Sincerely,
Brittman

GB1

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
How about a spent primer?

A wise man is frequently humbled.

Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
I have some little plastic caps, originally for protecting the ends of fiber-optic cables. The small ones work well, on caplocks too.

What fresh Hell is this?
H
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
H
Originally Posted by Brittman
Hey guys - one question if I may? I'm new to in-line M/L rifles, NOT the old original style percussion cap & flintlock. If you remove the 209 primer at the end of the day to make it safe, WHAT do you replace it with until the next day hunting?

I know something has to be put over the breech plug area w/ the hole for the 209 primer. What is used to keep the powder from getting moisture overnight? The hole HAS to be covered, does it not?

Years ago for a reg. percussion cap M/L rifle, I would just put a piece of leather over the nipple and let the hammer down on it. Always worked before, but I don't have room for anything like that now w/ the modern in-line system.

Any thoughts or answers would be much appreciated. Thank you all in advance!

Sincerely,
Brittman