Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
H
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
H
Hello: Now I am not trying to stir the pot. Honestly looking for opinions why 140 or 150 grain Hornady SST would, or would not make a good bullet for Elk in primarily open country (25 - 300 yard shots).

A little background may me necessary here. I have been building preference points for a few years now for my home state to hunt Elk in the Black Hills of SD, Archery & Rifle. Followed by Applying for a left over Cow tag. This year I was finally lucky enough to draw a rifle cow tag in a low percentage unit.

The most suitable rifles I have for this hunt are a Ruger 77 - 30-06 & a Winchester Model 70 Feather weight 270 Winchester. Now The 270 is the rifle I am most comfortable with and more than adequate rifle for the task IMHO.

Cant put my finger on why, yet I favor Hornady offerings for some reason. Never had the need to use a bullet heavier than 100 grains in the past as all but one of my rifle deer have been taken with a 6mm Remington.
Last year I decided to take the 270 out & give the 130-grain Barns triple shock a try. Ended up shooting last seasons deer twice with the triple shock as the first shot was a heart shot that allowed the deer to continue running. Neither of us new the deer was dead with the first shot so I followed up with a Texas heart shot to insure the kill. Turns out both shots were fatal and provided devastating penetration, surprisingly little meat damage.