Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
L
I recently sold a gun, and tried to ship it via usps to an FFL in a different state. My local post office asked me if there was a gun in the package and then proceeded to tell me that I cannot ship it unless I was a dealer. We’re they correct? It was to my understanding that it was not their right to know what was in the package. Any info is appreciated, this is my first time shipping

GB1

L
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
L
They were wrong unless PA has some state law disallowing it. I suppose they could ask to see the FFL for the destination but I've never had to do that either. Find another PO or ask to see the postmaster.

That is true for handguns though - just remembered. Long guns are OK though.

Last edited by Lightfoot; 09/21/20.
D
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D
The PO tried to pull that on me in WA state. I found the info on their website and had to make a stink about it. Eventually they shipped it, but as Mike says, as long as it's a long gun.

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
They are wrong. In fact, they violated USPS rules by even asking or giving advice.

https://pe.usps.com/text/pub52/pub52c4_009.htm

No shipping handguns by private citizens. That's just not allowed.

For long guns:
432.3.f Rifles and Shotguns
Rifles and shotguns may be mailed by a non-FFL owner domestically to a FFL dealer, manufacturer, or importer in any state. These items must be mailed using a class of mail, product, or Extra Service that provides tracking and signature capture at delivery.

The Savage 99 Pocket Reference”.
All models and variations of 1895’s, 1899’s and 99’s covered.
Also dates, checkering, engraving.. Find at www.savagelevers.com
L
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
L

Rory beat me to it.

Last edited by Lightfoot; 09/21/20.
IC B2

L
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
L