Print Thread
Hop To
M
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
M
I had my Montana converted to 358win.

It wasn't a 308 long enough to know if this issue was present prior.

Pretty regularly, rounds will hang up...the bullet end. Seems to "point too high" if that makes sense. If I remember correctly, it's mostly feeding off the left side.

I thought maybe it was the little 200gr round nosed I was feeding it...but it's doing it with 180gr TTSX seated long or short.

What's the fix???

Love the rifle....but don't really want a single shot lol.

BP-B6

W
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
W
I have some experience, but with three 7-08 Kimbers, same basic case. Perhaps too wide feed rail spacing? Or perhaps the rails need to be polished on the underside to slick up travel into the chamber. Or another possibility is that the feed ramp is less than smooth and needs some careful slicking up? Did it feed properly before rechambering?

M
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
M
I didn't run it enough as a 308 to know honestly. Enough rounds to get it zeroed and 1 to kill a buck.

I found an old thread that should help. Will play around with it and probably get a new mag spring as it definitely seems weak. Maybe a new follower while I'm at it..a m700 milled follower is suggested to help.

I thought it was just not liking the little round nosed and thought the pointed bullets would fix it.

W
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
W
Here's a thought... your mag spring may sit too far forward in the bottom of the box, which can push the front of the cartridge up too soon?? If this might be the case, and you are a bit handy, you may be able to fit a spacer at the front of the mag box to hold the spring back to the rear.

M
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
M