Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
B
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
B
As a certified range officer I see all kinds of shooters out there. So I want to compare my experiences with what you all think. Let’s say you shoot a 243 very accurately. How much more recoil can you honestly take without flinching. Be honest. Is that a 270? 30-06? 300 mag? More. I have tested several experienced shooters having them turn their backs while I load , or not, their rifles. Then they have to shoot and flinching will become very clear. Results might surprise you

GB1

S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
In my experience gun fit and gun weight are very important to reduce felt recoil. A gun that kicks the crap out of me might be quite tolerable to others and vise versa.

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
Yeah, it surprises me too. A lot of guys can't shoot for chidt..:
[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

Some guys can... My threshold is somewhere around 375H&H levels. I'll shoot my 338wm for 40 rounds off the bench in one outing, then shoot my 30-06 and creedmoor all day long if need be. Some guys are like my buddy Troy:

Some shoot like my buddy Mark. Same rifle Troy shot in the above pic:

And hell, just to confirm the rifle doesn't shoot like chidt:

So, yes some have a higher tolerance for recoil. As you can see, my buddy Troy doesn't like shooting a lightweight rifle, even when chambered for a small cartridge, such as the 6.5 CM...

Originally Posted by raybass
I try to stick with the basics, they do so well. Nothing fancy mind you, just plain jane will get it done with style.
Originally Posted by Pharmseller
You want to see an animal drop right now? Shoot him in the ear hole.

BSA MAGA
M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M