24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I'm far from an expert on seasoning sticks, but I'll share what I have been told. Most of the time a freshly cut log is sealed in a type of wax to hold the moisture and only allow it to escape slowly. A stick dried too fast will develop checks that render it firewood. I understand that the best way to age the wood is in an environment with a humidity similar to indoors (pretty dry). The wax limits the flow of water out and it typically takes an inch per year or more for very figured wood. Some wood people kiln dry, but I have read enough precautions to decide to avoid taking that route. Srtrax has some really pretty blanks and finished stocks. He helped wind me up on pretty wood, but my budget put the kabosh on really high grade stuff.

<<<<<<<<<<<SPACE FOR RENT>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
BP-B2

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
378Canuck
There are whole lot of books written on drying stock wood and none cover the gamut! It is easy to ruin a blank and most do it by drying the wood too rapidly.

Highly-figured areas and end grain are waxed to slow the drying in those areas. If you think of wood as a bundle of very small straws it is easy to visualize the water leaving those areas rapidly. When wood gets to about 35% moisture content (fiber saturation point) it starts to shrink as it dries. Before that the water loss was unbound water loose in the cells and various vessels. The bound water in the cellulose walls holds the wood in a plumped up state.

When the wood is dried too fast the outside dries and can surface check because it shrinks faster than the inside. But worse than that if the surface gets down to about 6% while the inside is still quite wet the surface wood will take a set. It will not shrink much beyond that stretched size.