Print Thread
Hop To
M
miguel Online Content OP
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
M
I would really like to try my hand at a black powder rifle kit, and TOW's offerings seem to be just what I'm looking for. I like the H.E. Leman Indian Trade Rifle Kit. My preferences would be a curly maple stock, 36" .54 caliber Cole barrel, patchbox delete, and iron trim. Their services offer installation of the breech plug, installation of front and rear sights, and installing the underlugs. I think I would opt for all three, I have never done a rifle kit before, and this is all new territory for me. I do have good woodworking skills, and a fairly well stocked shop. What do I need to know before getting into this? Any books or videos anyone could recommend? Thanks, Bill

BP-B2

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Track of the Wolf has most or all of the books you would ever need to accomplish building a kit rifle..
One thing to remember though, a TOW kit is much more technical than a store bought kit like Thompson Center etc..
The thing is, if you spend a lot of money on a kit like you are talking about, you don't want to get in a hurry and screw something up..
I started out with a CVA mountain rifle kit, and later built a few rifles from scratch.
But, finishing and shooting something you built with your own hands is very rewarding.

Ken

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Be sure to inspect the stock blank closely upon receipt and prior to working it. They shipped out one to a builder I was using and he missed the repaired toe until after he started work. They would not accept a return unfortunately. Pecatonica Arms sells some nice stuff.

M
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
M
I own 2 of the CVA Kentucky Rifle kits. I built both of them from the kit, then had to rebuild them again after a house fire. With a little time, some woodworking and patience these kits are a great starting point.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker