Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
Originally Posted by baldhunter
I used to shoot behind the shoulder an inch or two below the mid point of the body.I was amazed at how such a well placed shot often resulted in a deer making a long mad dash before dying.Many of those were a 100yds or so.I think the lungs are super shock absorbers.Being spongy and flexible,a low lung shot,even though it is a lethal shot,it seems to protect the spine from the bullet shock as it travels through the chest cavity.I started shooting tight up against the shoulder,an inch or two above the mid point of the body.You still get the lungs but most of the lungs are below the wound channel and it doesn't affect the shock of the bullet like the lower shot does.The result is you get a lot of shock to the underside of the spine and also ruptures the large arteries that are just below the spine.I get consistent DRT kills with that shot.Another thing to notice is the diaphragm is angled.A low shot a little too far behind the shoulder and you will either hit or rupture the stomach.Shooting a little higher,you can still hit back a ways and still be in the lungs and avoiding a gut shot.
[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

Excellent post, you can lead a horse to water but you can't make it drink.

Life is good live it while you can.
GB1

H
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
H
400 yards after hit through the heart with a 165 Hornady Interlock out of a 30-06.
Haven't shot a deer through the heart since.

Your mind is your primary weapon. Never let it get rusty.

Endowment Member NRA
T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
If everyone would just hunt with a 243 win and shoot 95gr BT bullets there'd be no reason to ever trail a deer.

Life is good live it while you can.
K
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
K
Originally Posted by TrueGrit
If everyone would just hunt with a 243 win and shoot 95gr BT bullets there'd be no reason to ever trail a deer.

Odessa would disagree