Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
Docbar Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
D
I’m fairly new to AR’s. I’ve built a couple for other people, but done so on the cheap. Now I’m in the process of assembling parts to build one for myself. I want it to be good quality, but I’m not looking to spend top dollar; just good quality for a good value. I’m unsure of which brand of barrel I should buy. I’m considering Ballistic Advantage, but will spend more for a Faxon or even Odin if they are so noticeably better. Thanks in advance. It will be 16 inches and chambered in either 556 or 223 Wylde.

Here are the parts I have so far:

AERO upper and lower
Aero lower parts kit
Larue trigger
Colt carbine buffet tube assembly
Magpul CTR stock and grip
Toolcraft BCG
BCM Gunfighter charging handle

ARIC

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
Sounds like a good list so far. I'd look at criterion, wilson combat, and even windham weaponry. I've shot with some guys that use ballistic advantage and they seem to be reliable and fairly accurate/consistent shooters. I've also shot with some guys that have been using bison armory barrels with good success. The main problem right now is finding barrels, but they are out there if you search hard enough. Also, are you looking for chrome lined, stainless or does it matter?

Originally Posted by raybass
I try to stick with the basics, they do so well. Nothing fancy mind you, just plain jane will get it done with style.
Originally Posted by Pharmseller
You want to see an animal drop right now? Shoot him in the ear hole.

BSA MAGA
A
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
A
I haven't tried one myself, but Daniel Defense seems to generally be well thought of, and their chrome lined 16" 5.56 is in stock at midway, if that kind of barrel is what you're looking for.

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/2684573824?pid=990444

A
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
A
Of the three you mentioned, by preference would be Odin, BA, Faxon.