Hop To
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 10 11
S
Switch Online Content OP
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
S
Why did the 284 Winchester and WSSMs not become a commercial success? I have no experience with the 25 WSSM but looks promising as a light deer and antelope round. I have a chance to by one, but wonder why it is not more popular? I had, until recently, a NULA 284 Win and thought it was a great combo, IMHO better than the 7 08, but brass became almost impossible to find! I had the same thoughts on the 7 MM WSM, thought it and the 7 mm SUAM where the bst of the bunch, but I must have been wrong, and yet the 280 AI is a home run!

Last edited by Switch; 01/11/21.
GB1

Q
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Q
Wssm cartridges have feeding issues. The original wsm owes its demise to the original creator Rick Jamison and his settlement with Olin over copyright infringement

GOD Bless America
Q
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Q
7-08 is better than the 284 imho hence it’s still around in force

GOD Bless America
B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
Originally Posted by Quak

Yep. Kind of a no brainer...

Originally Posted by raybass
I try to stick with the basics, they do so well. Nothing fancy mind you, just plain jane will get it done with style.
Originally Posted by Pharmseller
You want to see an animal drop right now? Shoot him in the ear hole.

BSA MAGA
O
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
O
284 is extremely popular for F class competition. Norma, Peterson, and now Lapua make brass for it. 7mm SAUM is somewhat popular in the same sport. ADG makes great brass for it.

Politicians and Diapers both need to be changed often, and for the same reason!
IC B2

P
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
P
When I read the title of this thread what immediately came to mind was the .250 and .300 Savages. Growing up in the 80's and 90's they were popular deer rounds. Not so much anymore. Seems the younger crowd doesn't care for 99s

D
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
D