Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#15665554 01/16/21
A
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
A
Once you get in to the higher quality stainless steels, is there a lot of difference.

The folders I am looking at come in;

154 CM

or for more money
CMP 30 SV

or for a lot more money
CMP 90 SV

I guess my question is, is there any real disadvantage to 154 CM ?

Is CMP 90 SV worth a hundred bucks more ?

This knife will see daily use for decades.
Everything from cutting cardboard to dressing big game.

MOLON LABE
GB1

U
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
U
I'm no expert, but from what I've read, 154CM (or the improved) CPM154 will be "tougher" but S30V will stay sharper longer. S30V will also be harder to sharpen but won't have to be resharpened as often. My take is that if you want a bigger blade, go with the 154 and smaller, lighter use, the S30V. I'm sure that you'll get many different opinions. Right now, I have a Spyderco Native 5 (2.9") in S30V, an older Benchmade Griptilian (3.45") in 154CM and a Bark River North Country EDC (fixed 3.5") in CPM154. I like them all.

Last edited by UPhiker; 01/16/21.
V
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
V
If you go with 90 the edge retention is awesome but you will need a good system to get it sharp again. If I have to sharpen it I go with Matrix Diamond stones on my Edgepro.

Hunt hard, kill clean, waste nothing and offer no apologies.

"In rifle work, group size is of some interest...but it is well to remember that a rifleman does not shoot groups, he shoots shots." Jeff Cooper

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
The man on the street can’t tell the difference.

Sam......

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
I’d 154. Had pretty much all of em, I’m over the newest “super steel” personally.

This Rick Menefee is the shizzle..
[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

Ping pong balls for the win.
Once you've wrestled everything else in life is easy. Dan Gable
I keep my circle small, I’d rather have 4 quarters than 100 pennies.