Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
K1500 Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I inherited a 2001 Yamaha Big Bear 400 (carbureted) that was used on the family farm. Like most farm machines it has been worked pretty hard over its life. It is down on power but only at higher speeds. It starts fine, revs fine in neutral, and takes off at lower rpm like normal. It kind of tops out at higher rpm. It doesn’t stutter or fall on its face, it just doesn’t respond to the throttle. I’m not a mechanic and the machine is old enough I don’t want to dump a ton of money in it.

I have:
Replaced the air filter
Seafoamed the fuel and intake
Rebuilt the petcock (leaked)
Checked the plug
Verified good fuel and fuel flow

None of this has fixed the problem.

I have considered:
Rebuilding carb
Worn cam
Worn rings/compression loss

Any ideas?

Last edited by K1500; 12/22/20.
GB2

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
At first I was thinking it sounded like a fuel flow issue, but I think that would be come with some engine stuttering. It is likely a carb issue if the machine has been sitting idle for any length of time. If you are comfortable doing it, I would open up the carb and give it a good cleaning and inspection. Use lots of carb cleaner, soak the jets, and use firm toothbrush to get all of the shellac off. Blow carb cleaner and air through all of orifices in the carb body. The wire inside of a bread twist tie is smll enough to fit through most jets, and soft enough to not damage the brass.

Also check that the air box, air intake runners, muffler, and spark arrestor screen are unobstructed. Here in Michigan, it is common to find mouse nests, and chipmunk nut caches in airboxes and tail pipes.

What does the spark plug look like? The color and condition of the plug can help to diagnose the issue. https://ngksparkplugs.com/en/resources/read-spark-plug

Good luck!

K1500 Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker