Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
I just received 500 Factory Second bullets from Midway. They are Moly Coated. I have no experience with Moly Coated bullets and am trying to gain some insight.

After reading this: http://www.mssblog.com/2018/10/19/reloaders-corner-what-happened-to-moly-coated-bullets/ I am wondering if I should just clean them off and use them like normal. Cleaning would likely consist of wiping them off with a paper towel then tumbling them for a bit. I'm sure there would still be some coating on them but they would be much cleaner than they are in the box.

FWIW: these are Factory Second 140gr .264 Deep Curl bullets (sticker on box). I plan to shoot them in my 6.5CM using RL-16 and a starting load for HotCore bullets and work up. Any advise welcome. Thanks.

A true sportsman counts his achievements in proportion to the effort involved and fairness of the sport. - S. Pope
BP-B2

H
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
H
Either/or. I have the same bullets on the way. I plan to just load and shoot them.

I belong on eroding granite, among the pines.
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by HuntnShoot
Either/or. I have the same bullets on the way. I plan to just load and shoot them.

Exactly.....shoot the damn things & don't listen to the "hair on fire" rhetoric.....

Campfire Savant
Online Content
Campfire Savant
Shoot em!!

Campfire Savant
Online Content
Campfire Savant
Would tumbling them with steel pins take the moly off???

IC B2

G
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
G
I use Molly coated bullets in my varmint rifles. The rifle seems to clean up faster after 100 rounds or so shooting prairie dogs. I'd just shoot them and not be concerned about the coating.

R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
Never saw a down side. Probably only shot 200K of them though.