Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
R
rdd Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
R
I'm interested in a Grohmann #1 or #2. I have never had a chance to see one in person yet. So tell me what your thoughts are. My favorite as of now is one of my Winston knives.

GB1

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
I've been using the Grohmann #1 DH Russell Belt Knife for over 30 years... as they say, "Strange looking, but feels Great in the hand!"

My current was given to me by my father for Christmas in 1997. He lives in Maine and happened to be up in Nova Scotia that fall and stopped in to the Grohmann factory in Pictou. He knew nothing about the DH Russell design, but when he picked one up he was convinced it was a great design and I needed one. Little did he know It had been my favorite for a decade at that point. Regardless, I gave my old one to a friend and have used the one my now 92yo father gave me since 97.' I think of him every time I use it. I can't remember how many elk, deer, antelope and black bear it's been used on.

Personally I like the Grohmann version best over the various copies...

[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

“Perfection is Achieved Not When There Is Nothing More to Add, But When There Is Nothing Left to Take Away” Antoine de Saint-Exupery
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
The Grohmann #2 Trout & Bird knife is a favorite of mine. Mine had Rosewood scales and a SS blade. I’ve seen em’ with stag scales and they were nice...!

Every day on this side of the ground is a win.
R
rdd Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
R
Brad, If you had a choice what grind and steel would you get?

Antlers, Do you use your #2 for big game? If so why did you choose it over the #1?

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger