Hop To
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
J
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
J
Originally Posted by Jim in Idaho
Couldn't say what the most flyable was or is but I would know not to get an F-104 Lockheed Lawn Dart aka Starfighter, although they get my vote as one of the sexiest looking fighters without propellers.

Speaking of aircraft with visible means of support, was watching "The Cold Blue" documentary about B17's again on HBO the other night and one of the pilots mentioned how easy it was to fly, like a big Piper Cub.

[Linked Image from external-content.duckduckgo.com]

I agree, and I like 106’s too. Very sleek and fast!

GB1

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
It wasn't until years after I graduated from pilot training that I learned that the T-38 Talon was designed to have near- F104 landing characteristics - which were eye watering. The theory was that if you could land the T-38, you could fly anything the Air Force had. Giving a plane that hard to land to student pilots may have been a bit ambitious, but all of us who got that far in training survived it. If you look at a T-38 you can see the resemblance: long sleek fuselage and itty-bitty wings. Yeah, it was a rocket to fly.

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

If I remember correctly, you held about 85% power on final and 190 knots, and it touched down/stalled at 165 knots.

Last edited by RockyRaab; 02/17/21.

Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult.

D
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
D
I’d like a A-4 Skyhawk. Small , nimble , and simple. I remember the Blue Angels flying them when I was young.

‘TO LEARN WHO RULES OVER YOU, SIMPLY FIND OUT WHO YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO CRITICIZE’

Conspiracy theorists are the ones who see it all coming…

You are the carbon they want to eliminate !

I’m Uber Deplorable Ultra MAGA !
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Originally Posted by RockyRaab