Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
McInnis Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
First let me say I don't know much about semi-auto handguns. I started shooting revolvers and fell in love with them a long time ago and never really saw the need for anything else. I know I'm in the minority but I think I've only shot semi-autos three times in my life, including last week.

A friend came to visit. My wife and I knew her as a little girl when she grew up next door to us. Since then we've both moved around and now she's a young woman living in a nearby town. She's really a neat person, loves all kind of outdoors stuff including guns. She has a new AR-15 she brought so I took her to the gun range. She brought her model 19 with her. She's had it a while, don't know how much she's shot it.

The thing jammed on her nearly every time. I took it and it jammed on me the first time (I've heard about what happens when you limp wrist a Glock), then I figured out I need to grip it more firmly than I'm used to gripping my revolvers. We talked about that, but she still couldn't keep it from jamming.

She's a slim little thing, maybe weighs 105 lbs when soaking wet. But she's wiry. While here she helped me load bags of top soil in the truck for a new greenhouse and she handled them like a man. She told us she goes to the gym every day after work and I believe it. And she enjoyed firing a S&W model 629 of mine with near-full .44 mag loads and enjoyed it. But she could not grip that Glock hard enough to keep in from jamming. Is this common? Is there any technique that could help her besides just holding the thing tighter? Are other semi-auto pistols as prone to this issue?