Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
kciH Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I've got a backcountry horseback trip coming up this fall and have not been on a horse for 9 years. I have minimal riding experience one way or the other. Most of the local places in Eastern NE seem to offer English riding lessons. Do you think this saddle time would be of any value? I'm having a hard time getting any callback from the places that offer Western style riding.

"The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." TJ

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing". EB

GB2

S
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
S
Any riding is better than none.English ridng calls for more posting. Chafing will be your worst problem. Buy some bicycle riding shorts.Unbeliveable how much they help. If it is cool, wear poly long john bottoms. They help too.I have been riding for over 60 years,and I still ride at least once a week .I wear the shorts in summer and th poly's when it is cool..

The bicycle shorts also have some padding, the more the better and if you have any prostate problem they help that too. 6-8 hours in the saddle will irritate enough to stop you up a bit.

Make sure you have someoe around with enough knowledge to adjust your stirrup leathers where they need to be.Too short and your knees will hurt.Too long and your butt will hurt.

If God wanted you to walk and carry things on your back, He would not have invented stirrups and pack saddles
Campfire Oracle
Campfire Oracle
^^Ditto to what Vince wrote.

Ill add that and english saddle will require a bit more work on balance as there is a lot less pommel and cantle.

The first time or two will make your squeezin muscles sore (adductors or abductors - always get them mixed). Work your core in preparation also.

If you take the time it takes, it takes less time.
--Pat Parelli

American by birth; Alaskan by choice.