Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
D
Doing some initial research: For the horse inexperienced, what should I look at if I get a couple for me, wife and kids to trail ride? I'm thinking mules, though my wife may not like that in that the last time she was on one, my uncle's mule broke about a 3" diameter dead pine limb on her leg eek.

GB1

S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S
I have been using ,breeding,training mules for 40+ years. I only have two now. The most important factor with a mule is it's disposition.That not only is determined by the parents, but also how they have been treated in life. You can get flighty mules from warm bloods or hot bloods, but most bad mules are caused by humans.
It takes a special person to own and use mules. "A" type personalities typically have problems.You have to have patience, a sense of humor,and calm personality.Unless it is an exceptional mule,they are not good to start kids or inexperienced riders on.

Being inexperienced with equines, mules are not a good starter. Good mules are bringing top dollar today. $3000 only gets you started.Stay away from rescues or unkown dealers/seller. I would advise first start with an older proven horse.If you are set on a mule,again find an older,trained, been there done that mule .

Be aware that the good mule you looked at and rode might not act the same when you get it home.Mules take time to settle in with their new owners. It might take a few weeks,a few months or a year.Depends on the training, how well it was treated, how many people it has been around, and what it has been exposed to.Beware of sellers advertising mules 4-7 years old as kid/wife,all around broke.There is saying that mules should not be born until they are 7 years old.Up until that time,you truthfully don't know what you have.

If you know about horses forget all that. You will need to start over. Tack and how you fit it are different, .