Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#16057095 05/05/21
shaman Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Let me say at the outset that I've spent 40+ years in IT and Data Processing, and I have found that the veterans of our Armed Forces have frequently given me the most cogent and appropriate professional wisdom.

Back in the early 80's, I was a COBOL programmer at a fairly large insurance company. I'd write up to 1000 lines a day and then put it aside and go home. It was a carefree time mostly. However, as a young buck programmer, I had not figured out that there were no diamond ring in the bottom of the Cracker Jack, and I wholly believed that the system would work and was in the process of always getting better. Within a year, my real education of what a career in IT was to begin. A big part of that education came from my association with Jerry, the guy in the cubicle next door to mine.

Jerry spent most of the day smoking cigars and drinking coffee. He flaunted the dress code and always looked like he had been picked up at a halfway house. Jerry was there to do one thing. Somebody had lost the Autocoder compiler, and his job was to maintain the Autocoder programs by directly editing the Assembler code. The work was tedious, and no one else (probably in the city) knew how to do it. I had a girlfriend from high school that had a similar gig out in San Francisco and was getting $300 an hour.