Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
S
I have been reloading for rifles over 40 years and started reloading fort pistol s about 15 years ago. Been running rifle loads over the chronograph for 25 of those years but never have chronographed any pistol loads until today.
Well today I loaded up some 38 Specials with some Lee 125 gr.- FN cast bullets that I casted from wheel weights. Loaded to max of 5.3 grains of Unique as per Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook. Book says I should be getting 944 FPS at the muzzle but the chronograph today says I am only getting 575 FPS. My pistolla only has a 2” snout rather than the 4” barrel Lyman used.
Have any of you chronographed your pistol reloads?
Do I add more Unique and work up to near spec velocity or do I live with what I am getting????

Last edited by SoTexCurdog; 05/26/21.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Just something to ponder while you develop your load, Quickload shows a difference of 340 fps between a 2 inch barrel and a 4 inch with the same load.

S
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
S
Thanks Mick.
I guess that would explain it. Sure is disappointing though. I just sold the only 4” barrel 357/38 I had and only have 2” snubbies left.
I think I will run a few of these 38 reloads through my M-94 Trapper rifle over the chronograph just for grins and see what it shows.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
that sounds like fun.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by SoTexCurdog
I have been reloading for rifles over 40 years and started reloading fort pistol s about 15 years ago. Been running rifle loads over the chronograph for 25 of those years but never have chronographed any pistol loads until today.