Print Thread
Hop To
C
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
C
Me:
I'm a hobbyist and varmint hunter. I have no interest in competition other than challenging myself to accurize my rifles and loads.

The rifles:
I just bought a Ruger American Predator in 223 (AR-15 mag version) and I have a Tikka T3X Light on layaway. The Ruger will be converted to run Rugers's AICS 223 mags, if I can make it work. This will allow me to load beyond 2.26", and up to the lands. The Tikka will get a similar conversion for longer OAL. Both rifles have 22" barrels and 1:8" twist. The Ruger will likely get some improvements done to the stock- like adding a cheek riser, free floating the barrel, bedding the action and stiffening the for-end.

What I've learned so far:
The Youtube channel "Johnny's Reloading Bench" (very, very informative channel, and can't say enough good things about it!) has done 15 episodes, and counting, on cloning the Black Hills "MK262 Mod 1" military 5.56 load. That load pushes a 77gr Sierra HPBT MK out of Johnny's 18" and 20" AR-15 barrels at about 2750fps, and consistenty gets 0.5 to 0.75 MOA with rounds sorted for bullet runout. His main goals are to achieve at least the same accuracy and velocity as the Black Hills load. If I recall correctly, he is exclusively using Lake City brass, CCI 41 primers, and the before mentioned Sierra bullet. The Nosler 77 grain OTM was tried early on, but he decided to stay with the Sierra. He is also loading to the same OAL as the black hills load. Here are the 15 powders tried so far in no particular order beyond the third place finisher:

1) AA2520- This powder pretty well matches the Black hills load with 25.2 grains at the right OAL.