24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Smokeless Powder in Magtech Brass Shotshell #15866072 03/05/21
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 74
pinback01 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 74
I'm searching for brass shot shell load data for 16 gauge using smokeless powder. I'm stocked up on Circle Fly 14 gauge 1/2' Fiber Wads, 14 gauge .135 Nitro Wads and .025 13 gauge over shot cards. Yes, I also have an ample supply of Black Powder. I currently load Black Powder for 12 gauge and 16 gauge with good success. But why not load up some of these brass shells with low pressure loads using smokeless powder? I have many varieties, Red Dot, HS-6, WSF and AutoComp. There is no published data available. Does anyone here have any experience in this regard? It shouldn't be Rocket Science or is it? I'm aware of RST low pressure shells but the delivered price for twc cases is over $400. Seems dumb not to use supplies on hand for some recreational clay busting.


The constitution shall never be construed...to prevent the people of the United States who are peaceable citizens from keeping their own arms. Alexander Hamilton
BP-B2

Re: Smokeless Powder in Magtech Brass Shotshell [Re: pinback01] #15878037 03/08/21
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 47,746
DigitalDan Offline
Campfire Oracle
Offline
Campfire Oracle
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 47,746
Don’t see any reason that shotgun load data wouldn’t work with brass shells, but you’ll need a sizing die is my guess.


I am..........disturbed.

Concerning the difference between man and the jackass: some observers hold that there isn't any. But this wrongs the jackass. -Twain


Re: Smokeless Powder in Magtech Brass Shotshell [Re: pinback01] #15886787 03/11/21
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,285
P
papat Online Content
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
P
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,285
Ballistic Products have a manual written by Vandenberg on loading brass shells. Might be useful. It is download able too so you can get it instantly. I ordered the buckshot manual early last month and it took a couple weeks to get. All I have ever loaded in my brass shells is black or substitute.


Society of Intolerant Old Men. Rifle Slut Division
Re: Smokeless Powder in Magtech Brass Shotshell [Re: pinback01] #15893466 03/13/21
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 22
R
runnerUA Offline
Member
Offline
Member
R
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 22
Following this, I always wanted to reload Brass shotshells

Re: Smokeless Powder in Magtech Brass Shotshell [Re: DigitalDan] #15895015 03/13/21
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 13,336
deerstalker Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 13,336
Originally Posted by DigitalDan
Don’t see any reason that shotgun load data wouldn’t work with brass shells, but you’ll need a sizing die is my guess.

and a roll crimp.


the consolidation of the states into one vast republic, sure to be aggressive abroad and despotic at home, will be the certain precursor of that ruin which has overwhelmed all those that have preceded. Robert E Lee
~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~
IC-A

Re: Smokeless Powder in Magtech Brass Shotshell [Re: deerstalker] #15896137 03/13/21
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 47,746
DigitalDan Offline
Campfire Oracle
Offline
Campfire Oracle
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 47,746
Nah, use a little Duco Cement to hold the overshot wad in place. Works like a charm and leaves no residue. Just in case the uninitiated are following, one has to use wads 1-2 gauges larger with brass shells. Mag Tech sells them.

Also, it doesn’t hurt to put a paper strip around the shot. No leading.

Last edited by DigitalDan; 03/13/21.

I am..........disturbed.

Concerning the difference between man and the jackass: some observers hold that there isn't any. But this wrongs the jackass. -Twain


Re: Smokeless Powder in Magtech Brass Shotshell [Re: pinback01] #15897942 03/14/21
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 13,336
deerstalker Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 13,336
DD, where were you 30 years ago! i never thought of Duco. i am down to a dozen or so of my 10gauge brass because of working the crimp and resulting splits! never to old to learn i guess.


the consolidation of the states into one vast republic, sure to be aggressive abroad and despotic at home, will be the certain precursor of that ruin which has overwhelmed all those that have preceded. Robert E Lee
~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~
Re: Smokeless Powder in Magtech Brass Shotshell [Re: pinback01] #15899185 03/14/21
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 47,746
DigitalDan Offline
Campfire Oracle
Offline
Campfire Oracle
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 47,746
30 years ago? Livin’ in Key Largo and catching too many fish!


I am..........disturbed.

Concerning the difference between man and the jackass: some observers hold that there isn't any. But this wrongs the jackass. -Twain


Re: Smokeless Powder in Magtech Brass Shotshell [Re: pinback01] #16132996 05/31/21
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,121
C
castnblast Offline
Campfire Ranger
Offline
Campfire Ranger
C
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,121
Smokeless powder is problematic in those hulls. Smokeless needs more pressure than black powder at the start of ignition to create conditions for a proper burn. Card wads usually don't seal well enough for that. So I searched for a 16 ga plastic gas seal that would work. all are too small. The hull has a larger internal diameter than any 16 ga wad can seal. I have found the Winchester AA 12 ga wads have a base cup that fits perfectly into the 16 ga. mag tech brass hulls. Loaded up some test batches, with just the gas seal portion under normal 14 ga. fibre filler wads but haven't shot them yet.

Last edited by castnblast; 05/31/21.
Re: Smokeless Powder in Magtech Brass Shotshell [Re: pinback01] #16147650 06/06/21
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 177
P
PeteD Offline
Member
Offline
Member
P
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 177
The simple answer to the problem of using smokeless in brass hulls is use another type of hull.
The drawn brass Magtech hulls are designed for BP.
Try using lathe turned brass hulls from Rocky Mt. Cartridge Co. Pricier than the Magtechs. They will last probably forever. Smokeless? No problem. Components? No problem, the RMC hulls are true to gauge and use 209 primers.


To be on the wire is life. The rest is waiting.
Karl Wallenda
IC-B

Re: Smokeless Powder in Magtech Brass Shotshell [Re: pinback01] #16156299 06/09/21
Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 36
J
Jstocks Offline
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 36
Get some from Rocky Mountain Cartridge.
I can vouch for the duco. I shoot brass in 410.


Moderated by  RickBin, SYSOP 

RR1b
Who's Online Now
614 registered members (10gaugemag, 01Foreman400, 160user, 1Akshooter, 1234, 1moredeer, 60 invisible), 2,495 guests, and 1,113 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
RR2/3










Fish & Game Departments | Solunar Tables | Mission Statement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | DMCA
Hunting | Fishing | Camping | Backpacking | Reloading | Campfire Forums | Gear Shop
Copyright © 2000-2020 24hourcampfire.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3
(Release build 20190728)
PHP: 7.3.28 Page Time: 0.065s Queries: 14 (0.005s) Memory: 0.8161 MB (Peak: 0.9176 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2021-06-17 22:47:15 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS