Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
MS9x56 Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
All still hunters out there what in your opinion are the best boots for still hunting?

Life is too short to hunt with ugly guns.
BP-B2

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular

For Me where I hunt Muck woody max are what I wear.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by jeeper

For Me where I hunt Muck woody max are what I wear.

+1.

Last season switched to DryShod brand. Muck style.

Dave

�The man who complains about the way the ball bounces is likely to be the one who dropped it.� Lou Holtz

M
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
M
I use 10” LL Bean Maine hunting boots, the uninsulated style. Treat the leather with toilet ring wax, and they are relatively waterproof. You can feel even small twigs under them. The soft rubber chain link tread gives fairly good traction on rock slopes. I’ve been using them for nearly 40 years of Adirondack hunting and I’ll never be without a pair.
That being said, they do absolutely nothing for keeping your feet warm. Even the Thinsulate lined models are ice boxes. If you are going to be sitting for any longer periods of time, wear something else.

B
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
B
Best for still hunting where ? Under what conditions ? Bare ground or snow ? Creeks to cross and how deep ? There is no one best boot for still hunting. I have several different pairs for different places/conditions.

IC B2

H
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
H
I still like my Rocky's!

When I Bowhunted a lot, I would carry some Ankle high Indian Moccasins,(Sneakin Slippers), in my pack, to try to sneak up on game!

Shot a lot of Whit tails in Ohio, doing it this way.

Even got close to an Elk in Colorado 30 yrs. ago, but he got wise and bolted!

I had a few Layers of leather Tanned deer hide,
soles in each to help re enforce the inside Bottoms.