-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
johnn, back in the day I was a resident of Alaska so I knew what to do and where to go. I personally never had my raft sliced because I went out of my way to never float navigable waters, but there are plenty of well-publicized examples of that happening. True, no one owns sole access to a river. All I'm saying is that if you are competing with two or three other parties on the same river your experience will be diminished. There are better options than hunting on a river behind other hunters.

GB1

A
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
A
Float hunting for moose is the best. My very first moose in AK was only 42” but got him on a solo float hunt since I didn’t know anybody. Since then I’ve done probably 5 more moose floats and been lucky enough to get a few 60+ inch bulls. I personally think float hunting is the best way to get into moose and caribou, i have only floated for sheep once but some guys do that too.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by John_Havard
During the '80's I owned a 16' Avon white water raft & rowing frame - the whole schnizzle. I did four or five float hunts above the Yukon. If you've seen the movie "The Revenant" then you can have some idea about what a float hunt will be like. After the first camp is broken down and set back up again everything is wet and stays that way the rest of the trip. Constantly setting up camp and breaking it back down every day or so sucks. The wind is ALWAYS in your face, no matter how many twists and turns the river makes. And God help you if you're floating navigable waters where locals hunt. Your raft may well be sliced up when you return to camp from a day of hunting. Overall a float hunt is a miserable option compared to other types of moose hunts.