Print Thread
Hop To
H
Huntz Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
H
I have a Tikka 17HMR that really shoots good.I kind of like the Walnut on the CZs,but have no idea how good they shoot.I would probably get the Varmint 22LR.Give me some experienced opinions.Thanks Huntz

Its all right to be white!!
Stupidity left unattended will run rampant
Don't argue with stupid people, They will drag you down to their level and then win by experience
GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I bought one of the MTRs. I’m still learning it and trying out a bunch of ammo, but certainly the potential is there. Main thing is that it's a really nice rifle, and they fixed all the negatives present on the earlier models. If I didn’t already have a re-stocked 455 SS that’s a good shooter, I’d pop for a sporter 457.

I’m a big fan of 77/22s, but these are just as nice IMO, available, scaled better for rimfires, and don’r need the tweaks that the Rugers often require. Scoping is simpler too.

What fresh Hell is this?
J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J
I will agree with what Pappy said.

I currently own a 2016 vintage CZ 452 American and late last year got a Tikka 1x and just recently a CZ 457 American to go with them. All 22LR rifles.

Bear in mind these are samples of one. The Tikka is a great rifle functionally and ergonomically but it is a butt ugly club compared to my CZ sporters (either of them). So far ,with their preferred ammo the Tikka is JUST a hair over an MOA out to 100 yards and my 452 is just under that. Both shoot damn well for 6lb sporters.

My CZ 457 American shows promise but I have only had it for a few weeks and have not wrung it out for grouping side by side with the other two rifles on a calm day. So far, the 457 has functioned flawlessly.

If grace and beauty is your thing , track down a CZ 457 American. If you want the ultimate level of accuracy ,go with the 457 Varmint MTR

Last edited by jk16; 07/17/21.
B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B