Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
G
I’m relatively new to walleye fishing, having only been out a half dozen times trying to catch them in the Columbia River system. I’ve had most of my success with jigs and drifting with bait. However, I just can’t seem to catch any while trolling, especially with bottom bouncers and spinners. I’ve tried anywhere from 0.5 to 1 mph using smile blades and slow death hooks. Ive tried from 10 to 50 feet of water. All sorts of colors, and various lengths of worm and scents. I fished from 0530 to 1300 on Banks Lake in E. WA without a single bite from something other than a bass. Just as I said “[bleep] this!” We got a 25 inch walleye. Then a smaller 20 incher. Then, not another bite. Caught a few more bass and called it a defeat. I probably could have caught a few with jigs, but I really wanted to figure out trolling. Any pointers?

GB2

Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
Have you tried minnows or leeches?

The last time that bear ate a lawyer he had the runs for 33 days!
G
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
G
In my state, rules on using bait are kind of strict. You can only use leeches if the lake has leeches and you capture them from that lake. You can’t use minnows or other live fish as bait. Its rare to find a tackle shop that sells leeches.

W
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
W
I've gotten caught in the rocks more with bottom bouncers than otherwise.

These premises insured by a Sheltie in Training ,--- and Cooey.o
"May the Good Lord take a likin' to you"
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana