Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
Jstocks Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
J
Probably about as popular as someone posting asking for help to learn turkey hunting in my part of the world, but here goes nothing.

I’m not looking for a state, unit, or none of that. I’m asking because I want to learn and I want to try a hunt in the next couple of years.

During the rut and the earlier seasons, on public land, where do you find elk? Meaning are they typically in a higher altitude, and pushed back into deeper thicker stuff when pressure starts?

Also, I’m an “easterner” so I don’t know what I don’t know. Are atv’s used to get back further down trailheads out west, or do people have to walk or ride horses to get back away from the crowds?

GB1

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
For now , I would peruse all these elky threads for information. There are some pretty savvy dudes on here that have hunted elk for much of their lives in most places elk reside. I am a mere novice still compared to some, and never did I stop learning all the years I hunted them.

KC Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker

troublesome:

Check your PMs

KC

Wind in my hair, Sun on my face, I gazed at the wide open spaces, And I was at home.

KC Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker

Check your PMS

Wind in my hair, Sun on my face, I gazed at the wide open spaces, And I was at home.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
As with most hunting the harder it is to access an area the less pressure there will be on the animals.

After the first shot the rest are just noise.

Make mine a Minaska

Heaven has walls and rules, H-ll has open borders
IC B2

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Start getting in shape now. I took a day trip bowhunting elk yesterday - Walked 7 miles with ~2500' of elevation gain. Started at 6,000' and topped out about 8500'. That does not include all the little ups and downs along the way. Pretty typical jaunt here in So. Idaho.