Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
OP Offline
L
I was thinking of getting into reloading to make shooting cheaper, but when I did a tally of all the costs, it was still cheaper to buy factory ammo (and that's not even including the equipment necessary like dies and presses etc.). Maybe it's because I'm trying to reload 300 WBY Mag? Or maybe it's because I'm trying source the component parts from the various popular sites like Sportsmans Warehouse, MidwayUSA, (because I'm a newb and don't know where to get the good deals). But either way, it's cheaper to buy factory ammo than to reload.

Another reason I was looking to reload was to get cartridges that aren't produced anymore, such as the 168gr. TTSX in a 300 WBY.

Maybe I'm looking in the wrong places? Like I said, I've never done it before. Also, I was trying to get into it without guidance from someone with experience in the matter, so maybe that's a problem too.

Costs:
Re-use brass I've saved, no cost.
Primers: 1000ct @ $34.99/box = $0.03per
Barnes 308 TTSX 168gr: $47.49/box50 = $0.95per
IMR 4831: 3632grams (8lb) @ ~81.3gr/bullet = $5.93per (IMR 7828 is even more expensive, if you could find either one)
Total = $6.92 per round

Granted, this is for a round that is no longer available; I can't seem to find anyone even listing the 168gr. TTSX in 300 WBY. But even if I swap that out for a cheaper bullet at $0.45per it's still an expensive round. This is also excluding the fact that I can't actually find the powder to do it. It's not available anywhere I've found on the internet. Powder seems to be the most expensive part, so I can't imagine it's much cheaper to reload anything else. Maybe smaller cartridges that don't use as much, but still.