Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
J
Jim1611 Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
J
I've got some grandsons that love to hunt and shoot. Good young men in allot of different ways. When they graduated from high school my gift to them was an elk hunt. Two of them are able to go with me this fall. It'll be a DIY hunt in Colorado. Tent camping. One other fellow going too. None of these guys have ever went out west but all of them have hunted whitetails and small game. I've always hunted with guys that have experience so this is my first time to be the "old man" of the group. Any advice?
Thanks
Jim

GB1

B
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
B
Pack lots of extra chow! The younger fellas tend to eat more than you could imagine!

I can't think of much else other than making sure they have bins, packs, and good boots.

Semper Fi
E
Campfire Oracle
Online Content
Campfire Oracle
E
Practice, practice, practice

Get in shape and break in your hiking boots.

Life Member SCI
Life Member DSC
Member New Mexico Shooting Sports Association

Take your responsibilities seriously, never yourself-Ken Howell

Proper bullet placement + sufficient penetration = quick, clean kill. Finn Aagard

Ken
B
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
B
A couple of things. One is to have realistic expectations of how many elk will be seen and how many opportunities will arise. Its just so different from deer hunting in that respect among others.
Second is to focus on getting an elk instead of focusing on what to do with one once you've got it.

I took my nephews elk hunting once up on a time, and that's how I know...the time and energy put on strapping a chest freezer and inverter generator on a trailer was poorly spent in my view.

"Miss Jean Louise, stand up. Your father's passin.'"
T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
Bring up the area you will be hunting on Google Earth and familiarize yourself with the lay of the land and where your camp will be.

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~

3-7-77
IC B2